Watch the Final Day of the Vans World Cup LIVE at Sunset Beach on Oahu’s North Shore

By Team

Sunset Beach will test athletes’ total commitment as a career-making and breaking day unfolds during the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. Photo: © WSL / Heff

Big waves and even bigger career implications will converge today to create an immense amount of pressure and drama as the second stop of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing (VTCS), the Vans World Cup has been called ON for the final day of competition. With solid 12-15ft. WNW swell on hand and sets reaching up to 20ft. (face value) at Sunset Beach , the event will conclude in XL surf to crown an event winner and VTCS Rookie around 4:00p.m. Hawaii Standard Time (HST).

“Finals day of the Vans World Cup is on in solid, big Sunset,” said WSL Hawaii/Tahiti Nui Tour Manager, Marty Thomas. “The XL swell that washed out the break yesterday has eased a little, but it’s still pumping 12-15ft. with even bigger sets. The Championship Tour (CT) hopefuls will have to earn their stripes today!”

Opening the competition at 8:00am HST will be 2015 Hawaiian Pro winner Wade Carmichael (AUS), 2017 VTCS Champion Griffin Colapinto (USA), 3x VTCS Champion, World Champ and 2018 VTCS front runner Joel Parkinson (AUS) and QS contender Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) in Round 4 Heat 1.

Today will not only determine an event winner and VTCS Rookie, but also the roster for the World Surf League (WSL) 2019 Championship Tour (CT). Whoever ends up on top will be a testament of success from a year of highly-competitive surfing across the globe. Names to keep an eye on as these stories unfold include:

Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
QS ranking #8 (given current standings in Vans World Cup)
Round 4 Heat 1

Jadson Andre (BRA) #9
Round 4 Heat 2

Jesse Mendes (BRA) #10
Round 4 Heat 8

Soli Bailey (AUS) #12
Round 4 Heat 2

Jack Freestone (AUS) #16
Round 4 Heat 3

Miguel Pupo (BRA) #18
Round 4 Heat 5

Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) #27
Round 4 Heat 5

Tanner Gudauskas (USA) #34
Round 4 Heat 6

Joan Duru (FRA) #41
Round 4 Heat 3

The competition will kick start with Round 4, followed by the Quarterfinal, Semifinal and Final, which is scheduled to end at approximately 3:45pm. The awards ceremony will begin around 4:00pm and is set to take place across Kamehameha Highway at the Sunset Beach Support Park.

Links to an image gallery and newsfeed are available above and updated throughout the day; an official press release will be distributed following the conclusion of competition.

Following today’s win, the surfing world now fixates its attention on the final professional competition of 2018, the Billabong Pipe Masters, which has a holding window from December 8 – 20 and takes place at world-famous Pipeline. This event not only determines the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Champion title for 2018 (if still undecided at the close of the Vans World Cup), but also the highly-coveted and hard-earned WSL World Title, which was won last year by local surfer John John Florence (HAW). Heading into the Billabong Pipe Masters, three athletes are in contention for the world victory; Gabriel Medina (BRA), Julian Wilson (AUS) and Filipe Toledo (BRA).

LIVE streaming is available on,, and the WSL and Facebook apps (Facebook login required for mobile viewing) for the Billabong Pipe Masters. Or tune into Spectrum SURF Channel, which will televise all the action LIVE and in replay on digital channels 20 and 1020 HD, across the stae of Hawaii.

What did you think? Share your reaction and earn 100 points!

Recent most reacted articles